Successful Suzuki Series for AMCC Riders

| Photographer Credit: Philip Kavermann

A trio of intense Rounds of 2015 Suzuki Series competition thru December culminated at the Cemetery Circuit in Wanganui on Boxing Day, and saw a trio of titles taken by Auckland Motorcycle Club riders.

Formula 2 was arguably the most competitive class, with four different winners across the Series – and despite a crash at Manfeild, Daniel Mettam came away from Wanganui with the 600cc title, aboard the venerable Suzuki GSX-R600.
Also Suzuki mounted, WIL Sport’s Connor London finished sixth overall.

No less competitive was Formula 3, and Gavin Veltmeyer showed his experience – proving fast and consistent on his GVR 645 to secure a hard-fought F3 title over Glen Skachill and Leigh Tidman.
Rob Whittall also made the top 5, on his 550 Aprilia.

Whittall used the same machine to scoop the BEARS Junior title; while in BEARS Senior Stephen Leggett rode his Aprilia RSV4 into fourth overall.

F1 Sidecar had been the domain of Tim Reeves and Mark Wilkie from the UK.
Six wins from six ensured the title went to the multiple Sidecar World Champion, but his presence had encouraged record performances from the local rigs – amongst them Stu Dawe (and rider Adam Unsworth), who finished the Series in third overall.

F1 was another tough class. Sloan Frost prevailing on the Suzuki GSX-R1000, while AMCC riders Jamie Maindonald, Toby Summers and Ray Clee finished 6th, 7th and 8th respectively.

Post Classic Pre 89 rounded out the categories with AMCC representation, and in the Senior class Paul Russell chased Eddie Kattenberg all Series, to finish in second overall; while in the Junior class Nigel Lennox rode his Honda to fourth overall.

Formula 1:
133 Sloan Frost
125.5 Tony Rees
123 Horst Saiger

Formula 2:
124.5 Daniel Mettam
112 Damon Rees
111.5 Shane Richardson

Formula 3:
112 Gavin Veltmeyer
102 Glen Skachill
101 Leigh Tidman

129 Duncan Hart
128 Richard Dibben
128 Casey Bullock

BEARS Junior:
114 Robert Whittall
113 Rogan Chandler
109 Craig Sergeant

BEARS Senior:
125 John Oliver
108 Jason Bardell
104 Dwayne Bishop

F1 Sidecars:
152 Tim Reeves / Mark Wilkes
131 Aaron Lovell / Tracey Bryan
114 Adam Unsworth / Stu Dawe

Post Classic PRE 89 Junior:
139 Shayne Lawrey
120 Terry Moran
106 Steven Gregg

Post Classic PRE 89 Senior:
142 Eddie Kattenberg
120 Paul Russell
115 Sean Donnelly

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!