McLaren step back from BRDC Awards

| Photographer Credit: McLaren F1

McLaren have had quite an involvement with the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, dating back to 1989 when David Coulthard won the inaugural award. Now after 30 years of involvement they have decided to withdraw their support which has had quite an influence on many young British driver career’s. The award was introduced to help find and support young drivers through to a Formula One. Part of the prize was a F1 test with McLaren.

Other winners included Dario Franchitti (in 1992), Jenson Button (1998), Anthony Davidson (2000), Gary Paffett (1999), Jamie Green (2002) and Paul di Resta (2004). have an interesting article listing all the winners and what they went on to achieve (30 years of McLaren Autosport BRDC Award) – worth a read!


McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winners

1989 David Coulthard
1990 Gareth Rees
1991 Oliver Gavin
1992 Dario Franchitti
1993 Ralph Firman
1994 Jamie Davies
1995 Jonny Kane
1996 Darren Turner
1997 Andrew Kirkaldy
1998 Jenson Button
1999 Gary Paffett
2000 Anthony Davidson
2001 Steven Kane
2002 Jamie Green
2003 Alex Lloyd
2004 Paul di Resta
2005 Oliver Jarvis
2006 Oliver Turvey
2007 Stefan Wilson
2008 Alexander Sims
2009 Dean Smith
2010 Lewis Williamson
2011 Oliver Rowland
2012 Jake Dennis
2013 Matt Parry
2014 George Russell
2015 Will Palmer
2016 Lando Norris
2017 Dan Ticktum
2018 Tom Gamble

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits both and He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories