Grid set for TCR Asia Pacific Cup at Albert Park

A 22 car field of turbo-charged TCR rockets will take to the Albert Park street track for the 2020 TCR Asia Pacific Cup, starting tomorrow.

Supporting the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, a mix of seven different car brands will take on three races around the 5.3km street track, with a mix of local and international racers.

The field has finalised after three late additions, including Garth Tander, who will drive a brand-new Audi RS 3 LMS.

Purchased by Jamac Racing and run by the Melbourne Performance Centre, the new car’s only track time has been as a ride car in Germany for the factory Audi team.

Tander, a three times Bathurst 1000 winner, competed in three TCR Australia events last year, scoring an impressive five podiums from his nine starts.

Joining Tander at MPC is Hamish Ribarits, who returns to the team in the #100 Audi RS 3 LMS.

It will be Ribarits third race meeting in the TCR Series and second in the Audi. He raced with success at Phillip Island last year, finishing with a podium result in his maiden race weekend in the category.

He also drove a Holden Astra for Kelly Racing at Winton, ensuring that despite the fact that he has never raced at Albert Park, he has a good level of experience in these front wheel drive cars.

Another significant change is that Wall Racing’s Honda driver Paul Ip will not compete. Work commitments is keeping the Hong Kong-based driver out of the country and will be replaced by Takuya Shirasaka.

The 35 year old Japanese driver has competed in various sports car and TCR races around the world, and this will be his Australian racing debut.

Ip is set to return to Australia to compete in the opening round of the series at Sydney Motorsport Park on March 2729.

Joining Shirasaka as the other international entrants include Jack Milligan (New Zealand, Audi), Rene Munnich (Germany, Honda), Stan van Oord (Netherlands, Audi) and Julien Briche (France, Peugeot).

In terms of leading locals, the grid includes reigning carsales TCR Australia Series champion Will Brown, as well as former Supercars regulars Tander (Audi), Michael Caruso (Alfa Romeo), James Moffat (Renault) and Jason Bargwanna (Peugeot).

Two practice sessions and qualifying will be held on Thursday, followed by one race each day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.


1 HMO Customer Racing Will Brown QLD Hyundai I30N 1999 White/Blue
2 Melbourne Performance Centre Chelsea Angelo VIC Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984 White
7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso NSW Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 White/Red/Green
9 Ashley Seward Motorsport / AWC Jay Hanson VIC Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 White
10 Ashley Seward Motorsport James Allen VIC Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750 White
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom NSW Hyundai I30N 1999 White/Blue
15 Wurth Michael Clemente VIC Honda Civic Type R 1998 White/Red
17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna NSW Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 White
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC Peugeot 308 TCR 1600 White
22 Track Tec Racing Jack Milligan NZ Audi RS 3 1984 Orange/Silver
33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe VIC Renault Megane RS 1800 White
34 Renault Sport GRM James Moffat VIC Renault Megane RS 1800 White
35 Melbourne Performance Centre Alexandra Whitley QLD Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984 White/Blue
49 Wall Racing/ALL-INKL.COM René Münnich GER Honda Civic Type R 1998 White/Red
51 KCMG Motorsport Takuya Shirasaka JAP Honda Civic Type R 1998 White/Red
75 Melbourne Performance Centre Garth Tander VIC Audi RS 3 1984 Black
77 Track Tec Racing Stan Van Oord NED Audi RS 3 1984 Orange/Silver
97 Varta Batteries Liam McAdam QLD Audi RS 3 1984 Blue
100 Melbourne Performance Centre Hamish Ribarits VIC Audi RS 3 1984 Black
110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar VIC Honda Civic Type R 1998 White
308 Peugeot Sport GRM Customer Racing Julien Briché FRA Peugeot 308 TCR 1598 White
777 Milldun Motorsport Declan Fraser QLD Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984 White

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!