Jaxon Evans third as ten Voorde wins Porsche Supercup at Silverstone

No winner in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup has claimed such a commanding victory in a very long time. At round four of the season on the Formula 1 racetrack of Silverstone, Larry ten Voorde pulled clear of the field by a whopping twelve seconds.

Thanks to Ten Voorde’s teammate and compatriot Max van Splunteren, his Dutch team GP Elite also notched up a double victory. Over the entire 13-lap distance, the rookie managed to fend off a fair but unrelenting attack from Porsche Junior Jaxon Evans (New Zealand/BWT Lechner Racing). “I was always faster than Jaxon in the exits of the corners, which meant I managed to gain enough ground to defend my position in the next braking zone,” explained Van Splunteren. “Max was clever,” Evans admitted. “My main priority was not to risk too much after going home empty-handed from the previous race in Budapest and to earn as many points as possible.”

For his part, the New Zealander managed to successfully defend himself against attacks from Florian Latorre (France/CLRT) and Jaap van Lagen (Netherlands/FACH AUTO TECH), who ultimately saw the flag in position four and five. 

Damage control was the main goal of championship leader Dylan Pereira (BWT Lechner Racing). After experiencing problems in finding the right suspension setup for the high-speed racetrack, the Luxembourger took up the race from the seventh grid spot. “It got better, but overtaking is virtually impossible on this circuit, so I’m pleased with sixth,” stated Pereira, who managed to maintain his lead in the overall Supercup standings ahead of Ten Voorde. 

Next weekend (7 to 9 August 2020), iconic Silverstone once again hosts the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. Round five will be held as part of the Formula One “70th Anniversary Grand Prix”.

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Silverstone (GB), 13 laps
1/ Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team GP Elite), 27:00.440 minutes
2/ Max van Splunteren (NL/Team GP Elite), + 11.741 seconds
3/ Jaxon Evans (NZ/BWT Lechner Racing), + 12.113 seconds
4/ Florian Latorre (F/CLRT), + 12.408 seconds
5/ Jaap van Lagen (NL/FACH AUTO TECH), + 13.055 seconds
6/ Dylan Pereira (L/BWT Lechner Racing), + 13.399 seconds

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup 2020, standings after 4 of 8 races
1/ Dylan Pereira (L/BWT Lechner Racing), 80 points
2/ Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team GP Elite), 73 points
3/ Ayhancan Güven (TR/Martinet by Alméras), 56 points
4/ Jaxon Evans (NZ/BWT Lechner Racing), 54 points
5/ Florian Latorre (F/CLRT), 45 points
6/ Marvin Klein (F/Martinet by Alméras), 42 points

Related Stories

FIA announce 2021 WEC calendar

TalkMotorsport Short Read Length SHORT READ

Join in the conversation!