Canterbury Car Club continue to lead Interclub Trophy

| Photographer Credit: Josh Methven Photography

The All Day Autocross at Ruapuna last Saturday attracted 37 entrants from five different clubs with three separate courses that were fairly testing in the damp but drying conditions.

From the serious motorsport competitor to the interested enthusiast, who like to mistreat their cars and have a dabble at doing an Autocross. These are basic ClubSport events that have a course laid out where straights are no longer than 100m and cone chicanes are common on every surface from grass to tarmac.

With the exception of the winner, Josh Mitchell (Autosport) in his well worked WRX – 275.17secs, the next 13 came in within a 20 second gaggle. Canterbury Car Club’s Jacob Bennett – WRX came second and Neil Gardner – BZR 7 came third.

In the points, Canterbury Car Club grabbed 80, Autosport 57, Ratec 51 and Ashburton Car Club 15.

The Canterbury Car Club now have a 49 point advantage in the race to win the Dave McCahon CANTERBURY INTERCLUB Trophy in 2021.

Points after 4 of 8 Rounds:
Canterbury Car Club 237
Autosport Club 188
Ratec Motorsport Club 130
Ashburton Car Club 122

The winners are decided by the top five place-getters for each club earning points from 20 down to 1.

Related Stories

Highlands Sprint Series success

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply