Foster/Reid Audi win Three-Hour at Hampton Downs

Neil Foster and Jonny Reid have won the Three-Hour endurance race at Hampton Downs on Saturday. The second round of the Golden Homes North Island Endurance Series saw the Foser/Reid Audi R8 take the lead from a struggling Alex Riberas/Darren Kelly Aston Martin.

A brake problem caused problems for the Aston pairing eventually finishing a lap down, exacerbated by drive-through penalty for a pitstop infringement.

Third place went to Glenn Smith/John DeVeth (McLaren 650s) after Smith got past the Audi R8 of Andrew Fawcett/Sam Filmore in the final ten minutes.

Glenn Smith/John DeVeth (McLaren 650S) won the One-Hour race. Second home was Anthony Leighs (Audi R8) with John Midgley in third (Ford Falcon SuperTourer).

De Veth and Smith lead the One-Hour series and Class GT-A with Leighs and Midgley tied for second.

The Two-Hour race was won by Brendan Murphy/Brock Cooley (Seat Supeacopa) ahead of Wayne Leach/Paul Burborough (BMW 325) and Todd/Bawden/Rhys Bawden (BMW M2).

Three-Hour results

1Neil Reid/Jonny Foster (Audi R8)
2Alex Riberas/Darren Kelly (Aston Martin)1 Lap
3Glenn Smith/John DeVeth (McLaren 650s)2 Laps
4Andrew Fawcett/Sam Filmore (Audi R8)2 Laps
5Matt Dovey/Jono Lester (Audi RS5)9 Laps
6Harrison/Merlin (Aston Martin)14 Laps
7Head/Head (Toyota Altezza)27 Laps
8Lance Hughes/Chris van der DriftDNF
9Giltrap/Simon Evans (Holden SuperTourer)DNF
10Murphy/Greenslade (Hyundai i45)DNF
11McIntyre/Williams (Porsche 997 GT3)DNF

One-Hour Results

1Glenn Smith/ John DeVeth (McLaren 650S)
2Anthony Leighs (Audi R8)49.298s
3John Midgley (Ford SuperTourer)57.471s
4Kris Bostock (Porsche 911 Gen 1)1 Lap
5Gene Rollinson (Hyundai i30N TCR)1 Lap
6Sean Kirkpatrick/ James Webb (Porsche 997)1 Lap
7Blair McDonald (Holden Commodore SuperTourer)2 Laps
8Geoff Short/Martin Short (Porsche 997)2 Laps
9Rhys Gould (Hyundai i30N TCR)2 Laps
10Archibald  (Holden SuperTourer)2 Laps
11Brent Forman (McLaren 570S GT4)2 Laps
12McKenzie (Porsche 991)3 Laps
13Tim Martin/Luke Nueberger (Nissan GTR R35)3 Laps
14McAlpine/Yu (Porsche 991 GT3)3 Laps
15Grant Baguley (BMW E46)4 Laps
16Doe/Beziac (Porsche Caymen GT4)4 Laps
17Malmezac/Treolar (Porsche Caymen GT4)5 Laps
18Buchanan (Porsche GT4)5 Laps
19Kent Baigent/Steni Baigent (BMW E92)5 Laps
20Rogers (Porsche GT4)5 Laps
21Grant Aitken/Grant Liston (Porsche 996)6 Laps
22Leach/Burborough (BMW 325)6 Laps
23Todd Bawden/Rhys Bawden (BMW M2)6 Laps
24Mark Meadows (Lotus Extige)8 Laps
25Fluery (Porsche 964RS)9 Laps
26Dan Udy/Jon Udy (Toyota 86)9 Laps
27Lochlainn Fitzgerald-Symes (Porsche 997 GT3)DNF
28Dempsey (Porsche 991 GT3)DNF
29Ross (Nissan Altima)DNF

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply

1 comment
  1. Foster/Reid Audi win Three-Hour at Hampton Downs -

    […] Source: […]