Thriller expected with titles on the line in Timaru for One Hour South Island Endurance Series

| Photographer Credit: Euan Cameron Photography

Forty entries will take to the grid this Saturday, in Timaru, contesting the third and final round of the 2020 Carter’s Tyres South Island One-Hour Endurance Series. Overall and four separate Class titles are on the line in a series where finishing is vital to be in contention.

There have been two separate race winners this season, but neither are in contention for the overall One-Hour title due to each only finishing in one round. This has left a tie at the top heading to the Timaru International Raceway between Ben Derrick/Garry Derrick (Porsche 991 GT3) and Martin Dippie (main picture) (Porsche 991 GT3 RS) on 176-points each. Both entries have finished on the podium, first at Teretonga Park, Invercargill, and then at the Mike Pero Motorsport Park, Christchurch.

With a maximum of 95-points available, should either of these two falter, there are five others that may well step up for the title. Third overall is Russell McKenzie (158-points, Porsche 991.2 Cup) followed by Danny Whiting (149-points, Porsche 991.2 Cup) who is tied for fourth with the first non-Porsche entry of Jordan Michels (Honda Civic FK7 TCR). Bruce Davidson (Chev Corvett C6R) sits on 146-points with the McLaren 570s GT4 of David McAlpine/Kynan Yu on 140.

#35 Bruce Davidson Chev Corvette – photo by Terry Marshall

The opening round saw a dominant performance by the Sam Collins/Nick Ross Ford Mustang, easily winning from Martin Dippie and the Derricks’. The second round saw the Mustang retire within the first 10 minutes of racing with a continuation of transmission problems that saw them miss out on qualifying. This left the door wide open for Marco Schelp, who missed the first round, to control the race, winning this time from the Derricks with Dippie third.

The Timaru finale is building to be a thriller with both race winners back for the finale as well as the return of 2017 and 2018 One-Hour title winner Chris Henderson. Henderson’s very quick Toyota AE86 was badly damaged in 2019 and this Saturday will see the debut of his potential race-winning Toyota GT86. Also making their 2020 series debut are Milne and Tim Horne (Holden V8 SuperTourer).

Four separate Class titles will be decided by the end of racing on Saturday. Martin Dippie has a one-point lead over the Derricks’ in Class D (GT) while Davidson should take out Class C (>3501cc) having a 70-point lead ahead of the Collins/Ross Mustang.

#223 Debbie Chapman ahead of #22 Dennis Chapman – photo by Terry Marshall

It is still a close battle in Class B (2001-3500cc) between Michels (190-points), Debbie Chapman (Audi RS3 LMS TCR) 176-points, Mal Walters (Mazda RX7 S1) 156-points) and Robert Gjaja (Lotus Exige turbo/Intega 2.4) 155-points.

There is currently a tie in Class A (0-2000cc) between Andrew Gibson/Paul Booth (Honda Civic EF) and Andrew Kitching/Andrew Bartlett (Honda Civic) on 185-points with Tim Dossett (Honda Civic EF) in third on 164-points.

Qualifying takes place early Saturday morning with the 60-minute deciding race to start at approximately 11:15am.

#91 Andrew Gibson/Paul Booth Honda Civic Class A – photo by Terry Marshall

SIERDC One Hour Entries – Round 3/3

Driver No. 1 Driver No. 2 Class Car
Class A
Bradley Rule, A, Honda Civic Type R
Justin Ashwell, A, Suzuki Swift Sport
Paul Martin, A, Honda S2000
Art Markus, A, Toyota Starlet KP60
Clark Scott/Jim Boult, A, Honda Integra Type R
Vaughan Moloney, A, Honda S2000
Andrew Kitching/Andrew Bartlett, A, Honda Civic
Andrew Gibson/ Paul Booth, A, Honda Civic
William Taylor, A, Honda Integra R
Mark Meadows, A, Lotus Exige
Tim Dossett, A, Honda Civic
Jarred Morgan, A, Honda Civic Type R
Marc Denton, A, BMW E30 320i
Marcus Barnett/Shaun Johnston, A, Honda Integra
Daniel Cropp, A, Honda Civic SIR

Class B
Robert Gjaja, B, Lotus Exige
Dennis Chapman, B, Audi RS3 LMS TCR
Jordan Michels, B, Honda Civic TCR
Mal Walters, B, Mazda RX7
Grant Askew/Cole Askew, B, Seat Supacopa Leon
Mike Driver/Phil Hood, B, VW Golf GTi TCR
Craig Elstob, B, VW Golf GTi
Debbie Chapman, B, Audi RS3 LMS TCR
Scott Milne, B, BMW Mini Cooper S

Class C
Bruce Davidson, C, Chev Corvette C6R
Sam Collins/Nick Ross, C, Ford Mustang
Murray Beeby/Karl Beeby, C, Nissan R32 GTR
Ben Silcock/Andre Simon, C, Toyota 86
Chris Henderson, C, Toyota GT86
Roger Nees, C, Ford Falcon BF V8 Ute

Class D
Martin Dippie, D, Porsche 991 GT3 Cup
Danny Whiting, D, Porsche 991 Gen II GT3
Chris Nicholas, D, Porsche GT3 997
Marco Schelp, D, Porsche Cup S
David McAlpine/Kynan Yu, D, McLaren GT4
Steve Scoles, D, Ginetta G55 GT4
Milne Horne/Tim Horne, D, Holden V8ST
Scott O’Donnell/Allan Dippie, D, Porsche GT3 Cup S
John Buchanan, D, Porsche GT4
Ben Derrick/Garry Derrick, D, Porsche 991 GT3

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply