Castroneves earns pole in Iowa; Dixon starts 4th

Helio Castroneves posted a two-lap average speed of 183.480 mph (35.0817 seconds) on the 0.894-mile Iowa Speedway oval to earn his third Verizon P1 Award of the season and 44th of his Indy car career. Castroneves will be joined by longtime Brazilian friend and rival Tony Kanaan on the front row of tonight’s Iowa Corn 300, the 13th race of the Verizon IndyCar Series season.

Castroneves’ 44th career pole position ranks him fourth on the all-time list, five behind Bobby Unser (49) for third.

Click HERE to view and download the Qualifying Results for the Iowa Corn 300.

On July 12 at The Milwaukee Mile, Castroneves started from the rear of the 24-car grid after a qualifying rules violation. He charged through the field over the 250 laps to finish second.

“The Hitachi car was certainly strong,” said Castroneves, driving the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet. “We proved (last week) that, when we have a good car, we can come from the back to the front. Now, hopefully, we stay in front and never look back.”

Kanaan posted a two-lap average of 183.125 mph (35.1497 seconds) for his first front-row start of the season. Kanaan, driving the No. 10 Fusion Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, has finished second in two of the past four Verizon IndyCar Series races and has placed on the podium in five consecutive races at Iowa Speedway.

NBCSN’s telecast of qualifying will begin at 6:30 p.m. ET to proceed live coverage of the 300-lap race starting at 8 p.m. ET.

Verizon IndyCar Series championship points leader Juan Pablo Montoya (182.707 mph), in the No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, will share Row 2 with Scott Dixon (182.357), in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet. Dixon trails Montoya by 54 points in the standings.

Sebastien Bourdais, winner of the July 12 ABC Supply Co. Inc. Wisconsin 250 at The Milwaukee Mile, spun during his qualifying attempt to make light contact with the SAFER Barrier at Turn 2. Bourdais continued, but was unable to complete his qualifying attempt and will start last in the 24-car field.


Qualifying Results

1. (3) Helio Castroneves, Chevrolet, 183.480
2. (10) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 183.125
3. (2) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 182.707
4. (9) Scott Dixon, Chevrolet, 182.357
5. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 181.627
6. (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 181.625
7. (67) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 181.367
8. (27) Marco Andretti, Honda, 181.081
9. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 180.843
10. (8) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 180.659
11. (20) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 180.401
12. (26) Carlos Munoz, Honda, 180.080
13. (4) Stefano Coletti, Chevrolet, 179.898
14. (7) James Jakes, Honda, 178.997
15. (14) Takuma Sato, Honda, 178.433
16. (83) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 177.972
17. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 177.857
18. (25) Justin Wilson, Honda, 177.824
19. (5) Ryan Briscoe, Honda, 176.907
20. (19) Tristan Vautier, Honda, 176.256
21. (41) Jack Hawksworth, Honda, 176.255
22. (18) Pippa Mann, Honda, 175.812
23. (98) Gabby Chaves, Honda, 175.668
24. (11) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, no speed

Media: IndyCar Series 19 July 2015

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply