Kiwi drivers outside top 10 in FIA F2 qualifying at Silverstone

| Photographer Credit: Red Bull Media

Both Kiwi drivers, Liam Lawson and Marcus Armstrong, have failed to break into the top ten qualifying for the latest FIA Formula 2 Championship round at Silverstone in the UK overnight. Lawson qualified 11th and Armstrong back in 14th.

Oscar Piastri became the fourth different pole-sitter in as many rounds with a dominant performance at Silverstone, setting the fastest lap of the session in the first stint, before a Robert Shwartzman crash brought out a Red Flag and ended Qualifying prematurely.

Championship leader Guanyu Zhou snuck into second with a late lap, but was 0.221s off Piastri’s poletime of 1:39.854. MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor scored his best Qualifying position with third, just over four-tenths off the leader.

Saturday’s reverse grid Sprint Race gets underway at 8:50am local time (7:50pm NZ time)

Qualifying results

1Oscar PiastriPrema1m39.854s11
2Guanyu ZhouVirtuosi1m40.075s+0.221s11
3Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1m40.259s+0.405s10
4Dan TicktumCarlin1m40.408s+0.554s11
5Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix1m40.419s+0.565s12
6Felipe DrugovichVirtuosi1m40.451s+0.597s10
7Robert ShwartzmanPrema1m40.452s+0.598s10
8Roy NissanyDAMS1m40.486s+0.632s11
9Juri VipsHitech GP1m40.491s+0.637s10
10Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1m40.556s+0.702s11
11Liam LawsonHitech GP1m40.679s+0.825s10
12Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1m40.683s0.829s11
13Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1m40.772s+0.918s10
14Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1m40.895s+1.041s11
15Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1m40.915s+1.061s10

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply