Kiwi Heimgartner targeting Jason Richards Trophy win today

| Photographer Credit: Ross Hyde

Supercars return to the track this morning for the second 200km race of what has already been a memorable weekend for Kiwi fans at the ITM Taupō Super400.

In yesterday’s inaugural race of the event, Auckland-born Andre Heimgartner won an emotional race from the Shell Ford duo of Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale.

There were four Kiwis in the top ten yesterday – including Richie Stanaway who started from last on the grid.

#26 Richie Stanaway – photo Ross Hyde

The fifth Kiwi, Matt Payne, was the quickest in qualifying yesterday and will be looking to bounce back today.

Red Bull’s Will Brown holds a 59-point Repco Supercars Championship lead over his teammate Broc Feeney heading into today, while Heimgartner is in the box seat to claim this year’s coveted Jason Richards Memorial Trophy – awarded to the driver who accumulates the most points of the weekend.

Ryan Wood- photo Ross Hyde

Championship leader Will Brown finished 9th, while his fellow Red Bull Camaro teammate Broc Feeney was 21st – which has allowed Brown to open up a 59-point Championship lead heading into tomorrow’s second and final day of racing.

Mostert is third in the standings and best of the Ford drivers, while Stanaway is now fourth for Penrite Racing.

Sunday will begin with Boost Mobile Qualifying at 10:45am local time, followed by a Top Ten Shootout at 12:25pm.

Race 8 of the 2024 Repco Supercars Championship season is scheduled to begin at 1:05pm AEST/3:05pm NZST with a 60-lap, 200-kilometre race set to entertain a sellout crowd at Taupō.

Live coverage of the ITM Taupō Super400 can be found on Sky Sport

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply