Look back in history Sunday: Murphy claims 2013 BNT V8 SuperTourers championship

Greg Murphy won the 2013 the BNT V8 SuperTourer championship after a hugely stressful final race when the advantage swung back and forth at Pukekohe Park Raceway, exactly six years ago. Murphy took the title by 28 points from Hamilton driver Ant Pedersen at the final round of the Hankook Super Series.

Going into the final race of the Mike Pero Pukekohe 500 meeting, Murphy and co-driver Jack Perkins knew they probably had to bring their Holden home at least two places ahead of the Ford driven by Pedersen and Chaz Mostert.

After the leading teams had completed their compulsory two pit stops, Murphy led, just one place ahead of Pedersen and with 2012 champion Scott McLaughlin not far back in third.

Greg Murphy

McLaughlin closed on Pedersen and passed him, putting Murphy the necessary two places ahead of his title rival. His chances improved further when Pedersen lost time with a fast trip across the grass off turn one and lost a place to the Holden driven by Australian Tim Slade and Aucklander Richard Moore.

But then McLaughlin caught Murphy and put him under tremendous pressure, finally getting through to the lead with a clean move inside at the hairpin with 12 of the 70 laps to go.

Pedersen continued to struggle with his car and fell back to fifth. He and Mostert did have the consolation of winning the endurance section of the championship; Murphy had earlier won the sprint series.

The final drama came as McLaughlin’s car started streaming heavy smoke over the last two laps.

For the last part of the race Slade ran close behind Murphy but because Slade and Moore are part of the same M3 that Murphy drives for, it was clear that Slade was not going to try to pass and he finished third.

Shane Van Gisbergen had been in strong contention for the title after a big win in Saturday’s shorter race, but early in Sunday’s first race, the Ford’s motor stopped and he was out of the meeting. He still took third in the championship.

Australian Lee Holdsworth blitzed away to a big lead over the first half of that race before handing over to Aucklander Tim Edgell, who piloted the Ford on to his second victory of the season.

McLaughlin and Moffat were second with Pedersen and Moffat third, which put Pedersen into the series lead as Murphy and Perkins were fifth, unhappy with the balance of their car.

Final championship points:
1 Murphy 3559,
2 Pedersen 3531,
3 Van Gisbergen 3066,
4 Moore 2878,
5 McLaughlin 2744,
6 Daniel Gaunt (Auckland, Ford) 2412,
7 Andre Heimgartner (Auckland, Holden) 2237,
8 Edgell 1931,
9 Mostert 1899,
10 Slade 1718.

Endurance champions: Pedersen-Mostert.

Related Stories

Exciting future for V8 racing in NZ

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Heimgartner shows pace in Supercars return

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Join in the conversation!