Auckland Motorcycle Club riders claim three NZSBK National Titles:

The dust has well and truly settled on a very successful Round Four of the New Zealand Superbike Championships; the final being hosted by Auckland Motorcycle Club in early March at Hampton Downs.After some intense racing over the final weekend, three National titles were secured by AMCC riders, testament to the Auckland Club’s ongoing investment in the promotion and support of Motorcycle Road Racing since its inception some 90 years ago.

Following several seasons on a 600 Yamaha, Toby Summers moved up a class and secured the Superstock 1000 title on his Kawasaki ZX10R. After a season-long battle with Dillon Telford on the Aprilia, it was a worthy result in his first season on the 1-litre machinery.

Daniel Mettam was the second National title winner – scooping the ultra-competitive Supersport 600 title away from Christchurch’s Cameron Hudson, with a blistering performance in the final Round.Mettam was 37.5 points behind Hudson coming into Hampton Downs, but at his “home” circuit he was not to be denied, and in a masterful performance took three wins and a second placing to secure the Title by just 5.5 points. Fellow Club member Aaron Hassan rode a similar Suzuki GSX-R600 into third overall, and will be a serious contender on the 600’s next season.

And Colin Buckley (teamed with Robbie Shorter) swept the Sidecar Championship, with ten wins from twelve starts. Buckley/Shorter were beaten only twice – both times at the final – by fellow AMCC member Stu Dawe (teamed with Ben Bygrave).Dawe/Bygrave only competed at this one Round, and yet finished up sixth overall in the standings.

Other notable performances came across several classes.Gavin Veltmeyer finished second in Superlite, as well as fifth in Lightweight – one of just a handful of riders attempting to compete in more than class at National level.

650cc Pro Twin saw former National Champion Ben Rosendaal finish third, with Nathan Jane in fourth, Karl Messiter in seventh, Josh Augustine in
eighth, and Phillip Munt in ninth – a sterling effort for the Kamo-based AMCC member.

Chris Cain contested 125GP – on the podium at three Rounds, and third overall in the points; while Ray Clee again represented in Superbike on the RCM Suzuki GSX-R1000, to place ninth overall.

Special mention also must be made of AMCC’s Greg Percival. The current Road-Race Commissioner for MNZ has for the past few years supplied his own Yamaha R450 Superlite bike for use by a number of developing riders at both Club and National level.

Avalon Biddle returned a National Superlite title last season on this bike, and this season Jacob Stroud used the same machine to repeat the achievement for No-Hair Racing.

To these, and all other Club riders who participated, AMCC extends our congratulations.

Alongside our regular sponsors – Red Baron Motorcycles, Motomail, Jimz Motorcycle Ride Experience, Hyosung New Zealand, Protecta Insurance, and
WIL Sport; Auckland Motorcycle Club wishes to acknowledge the contribution of Pelorus Trust, Youthtown and First Sovereign Trust in ensuring a successful race meeting to conclude the 2016 NZSBK National Championships.

2016 NZSBK National Champions:
Superbike Sloan Frost
SuperStock 1000 Toby Summers
SuperSport 600 Daniel Mettam
650 Pro Twin Baillie Perriton
125GP Rogan Chandler
Superlite Jacob Stroud
Lightweight Dennis Charlett
250 Production Lewis Dray
Sidecars Colin Buckley and Robbie Shorter

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!