Advantage Canterbury Car Club after Dual Car Sprint completed

| Photographer Credit: Jacob Cowie Photography

The 2021 Canterbury Motorsport Interclub Series saw another round completed in early August. A polar blast and torrential rain kept all but seven hardy drivers away from the Ruapuna/Canterbury Car Club Dual Car Sprint. The low numbers were a gift to the organising club as the event was all over by 12.30pm and the brave volunteers were able to escape the cold before lunch. A big thanks to organisers and helpers.

The Canterbury Car Club were the big beneficiaries with five competitors collectively earning 85-points. Allan Coker, Ratec, provided the sole opposition in the only 4wd present as his GR Yaris mastered the atrocious conditions.

Allan (main picture) grabbed the top place 20-points with a margin of more than 50-seconds over Malcolm Hoogervorst (Nissan Silvia) who had taken a trip into the gravel trap on final course but managed to hold on to second place.

Just over one-second separated Ian Wooster (Swift Sport) in third and in Andrew Bailey (Integra) in fourth. Winner of the ladies championship and Class 3 leader, Sharon Keir (Civic) paddled home in fifth.

The Canterbury Car Club now have a 134-point (but not unbeatable) advantage in the race to win the Dave McCahon CANTERBURY INTERCLUB Trophy for 2021.

Points after 5 of 8 Rounds:
Canterbury Car Club 322
Autosport Club 188
Ratec Motorsport Club 150
Ashburton Car Club 122
Full Results are on the Canterbury Car Club website – (Click Here)

With some incredible luck and the “Team of 5 Million” sticking to the lockdown to beat the Delta Covid invasion, the 2021 Canterbury Motorsport Interclub Series will continue with three more events still to be held.

The next scheduled is the Autosport grass Autocross on September 26th with the Ashburton Scotty’s gravel sprint and the Duavuchelles Hillclimb set for October.

The next rounds are:

Round 6: September 26th – Autosport Club    – Grass Autocross – Venue tba

Round 7: October 2nd (TBC) – Ashburton CC   – Scotty’s Gravel Sprint – Wakanui.

Round 8: October 16th      – Ratec M/Sprt        – Banks Peninsula Hillclimb

There have been three tarmac events and two loose surface events already.

The winners are decided by the top five place-getters for each club earning points from 20 down to 1.

With 90 maximum points available to a club per event, each club has a mathematical chance of taking home the silverware.

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply