Awards given at annual MotorSport NZ gala night

Scott McLaughlin and Steve Horn inducted into Motorsport Wall of Fame

Scott McLaughlin and Steve Horne have both been inducted into the Motorsport Wall of Fame at the annual MotorSport New Zealand Awards Evening, held in Christchurch for 2021.
The MotorSport Wall of Fame was established in 1994 and is a permanent reminder of the achievements of past and present members who, through their endeavours, have been instrumental in bringing MotorSport achievements to the world at large. 
Inductees to the MotorSport Wall of Fame are not an annual occurrence, taking place only when an individuals achievements met the incredibly high standards of those who have been inducted before them. 
The first inductee of the evening was Steve Horne. Horne has a very established motorsport crew member who achieved success at the highest level of the sport in America. Horne was the team manager for Trusports, where he oversaw two IndyCar championships and an Indy 500 victory.
Horne then started his own team, Tasman Motorsports Group, which contested in Indy Lights and later IndyCar. Horne’s team recorded four Indy Lights championships and multiple IndyCar race wins.
Also inducted was three-time Supercars champion, Scott McLaughlin. The 27-year-old’s large list of achievements in Australia including his championship wins, Bathurst 1000 victory, Bathurst lap record and win rate made McLaughlin deserving of joining the Motorsport Wall of Fame.
“New Zealand is truly blessed with some incredible people in motorsport,” said Wayne Christie, President of MotorSport New Zealand. 
“Not only are our drivers’ outstanding talents, but the people behind the scenes are highly sought after internationally.
“On behalf of everyone involved in motorsport in New Zealand, I want to congratulate Steve and Scott on being inducted into the wall of fame and thank them for their contribution’s to the sport.”

Sturgeon, Armstrong, Hunt and Dixon win MotorSport New Zealand premier awards

The MotorSport New Zealand’s premier awards have seen a high calibre of individuals recognised for 2021. Winners were announced at the annual MotorSport New Zealand Awards Evening held in Christchurch.
Peter Sturgeon was awarded the Lupp Trophy for his efforts in raising the profile of historic touring car racing. The Lupp Trophy is awarded to recognise a competitor from Classic and Historic racing who has demonstrated exceptional levels of sportsmanship, vehicle presentation and who embodies the very spirit and values associated with the Classic and Historic movement.
The Steel Memorial Trophy, awarded to a Junior driver who displays dedication, skill and a level of professionalism, was presented to Marcus Armstrong for his runner-up result in the 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship.
Ben Hunt was award the Rally Founders Trophy which recognises a rally driver who performs with distinction during the rally season, either nationally, internationally.
The Jim Clark Trophy, awarded to IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, is awarded annually to a New Zealand driver who shows a sportsmanlike attitude to the sport and fellow competitors .and natural ability in “putting up the most meritorious racing performance during the season”. This is the highest annually awarded honour for competitors. 
MotorSport New Zealand President, Wayne Christie, praised the achievements of the premier award winners.
“Tonight is a special night to reflect on all aspects of the sport and celebrate the achievements of our people,” said Christie.
“Our premier award winners have all shown New Zealand truly punches above our weight on the world stage.”

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply