Youngster claims 0.001 second race winning margin

Auckland based Shane Hodgson won Sunday’s E30 BMW race by one one thousandth of a second ahead of Matt Griffen at Waikato’s Hampton Downs circuit.

The opening round of the 2015/2016 Castrol BMW Race Driver Series, the E30 category is one of three that kicked off a new summer race season.

Of the three races contested by drivers in each category it was the E30 field that provided the hardest fought action. The early afternoon record winning margin featured karting crafted driver skill as Hodgson drafted Griffen up to the run for the line before sling-shooting past.

Neither driver was sure of the eight-lap reverse grid result until the time sheet confirmed their finish order. Adding to the weekend fervour, Richard Oxton joined the winners circle – consistently the fastest in the 42-car category.

In the Open A and B category 17 cars fronted for the season opener. Auckland’s Robert Berggren topped the weekend standings with a string of podium placings. Warwick Mortimer and Andrew Nugent shared race wins, although Nugent suffered a clutch failure in the handicap race – sidelining his super-quick V8 powered M3.

Amassing 25 cars in the Open 2L class it was a return of the stalwart protagonists. Marty Seddon, Graham Ball and Ashley Blewitt took race wins. The trio finished 0.7sec apart in the first race while in the final Blewitt steered to a comfortable victory after his rivals tangled and self-eliminated.

Castrol BMW Race Driver Series scholarship winner Robert Hill finished all three races – taking time to settle in to his first ever season of competition.

The series next round heads to Manawatu’s Manfeild circuit 14-16 November.

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!