Date confirmed for 2016 Stadium Finance Westland Rally

| Photographer Credit: Euan Cameron Photography

A full field including legendary drivers and cars are expected to enter the 2016 Stadium Finance Westland Rally as the Westland Car Club celebrates its 49th anniversary of the club’s formation. Organisers have set the dates 18-19 March 2016 for the first round of the Mainland Rally Series.

The rally is a favourite amongst drivers and teams with some great roads around Lakes Brunner and Kanierei. Many past club members and competitors are being tracked down by rally organisers to invite them to the 2016 rally, particularly to join them at the famous Paroa Hotel prize giving. So far the response has been extremely positive.

Past winners include Timaru’s Leo Leonard (1974 Datsun 1200 and 1978 Ford Escort RS1800), Paul Adams (1980 Chevette 2300), Jim Donald (1982 Escort RS1800), Brian Stokes (1983 Escort 1600 and 1989 Ford Sierra 4×4) and Brian Green (1988 Audi Quattro)

The 2015 rally was won by Darren Galbraith/James Bracefield (Mitsubishi Evo 6) from Richard Bateman/Sharisse Guckert (Mitsubishi Evo 8) and Deane Buist/Brent Buist (Ford Escort 2340).

More details are expected to be released when finalised including an increased competitor prize pool from the clubs sponsors and supporters.

Any past members wishing to contact the organisers can do so through e-mail

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!