Hawkeswood takes out NZ Gold Star Hillclimb Championship

| Photographer Credit: Geoff Ridder

Jack Hawkeswood has won the 2021 NZ Gold Star Hillclimb Championship hosted by the South Otago Car Club. Chris Hey won the 2WD title with Matt Penrose taking out the NZ Cross Car Championship.

“Incredible!” exclaimed Hawkeswood.  “Twenty years after my Father (Andrew) took the NZ Clubsport Championship Hillclimb Championship, and I’ve have claimed my first National Title. There are so many people to thank for my progression over the summer.”

Jack Hawkeswood, NZ Hillclimb Champs

The title fight consisted of a gravel climb at Burma Road on Saturday 14 February and then a seal climb on the Tuapeka West Rd, both near the town of Lawrence in South Otago.

Matt Penrose in a Cross Car was fastest competitor in both the gravel and seal runs ahead of Hawkeswood. Cross cars are excluded from the Gold Star Champs currently and run for their own title.

“I couldn’t be happier with the result,” commented Penrose.  “And a big thanks to Dad and James for all the work they did over the weekend.”

NZ Gold Star Hillclimb Championship (Top 10)
1/ Jack Hawkeswood
2/ Jason Clark
3/ Chris Hey
4/ David Gee
5/ Andrew Elder
6/ Josh Mitchell
7/ Thomas Good
8/ Dean Cameron
9/ Brendon Wadsworth
10/ Liam Gee

2wd Title (Top 5)
1/ Chris Hey
2/ Thomas Good
3/ Dean Cameron
4/ Brendon Wadsworth
5/ Liam Gee

Cross Car title
1/ Matt Penrose
2/ Jeff Ward
3/ Jarrod Owens

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits talkmotorsport.co.nz. He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!


Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply