Cassidy to compete in European F3

Hot on the heels of confirming that he will compete as a factory backed driver with Lexus in Japan’s Super GT category, Aucklander Nick Cassidy is proud to announce that he will also be returning to the FIA European F3 championship in 2016, racing with multiple championship winning Prema Powerteam.

“I am really excited to be joining Prema Powerteam for 2016,” commented Cassidy. “It is going to be a very busy year for me traveling between Europe and Japan where I will also compete in the Super GT500 championship with Lexus Team TOM’S, but after a great year last year, I feel that I am more than prepared for the challenge that lies ahead. Ever since my first introduction to the Prema team I felt very welcome, I really enjoy the family atmosphere inside the team.”

Prema have won multiple European titles and Cassidy will be continuing a relationship with the team after two strong outings in the 2015 European Championship where he claimed a 2nd and a 3rd at the Nurburgring Round.

Last year, he also won the Japanese Formula 3 Championship with TOM’S Toyota as the most recent highlight of a consistent career which includes winning the Toyota Racing Series in 2012 and 2013. In Europe, he has made appearances in various categories over the past 2 seasons making 18 FIA F.3 appearances from 2013 to 2015 the highlight finishing on the podium in the iconic Macau Grand Prix in November 2014.

Prema’s Team Manager, René Rosin, couldn’t have spoken more highly of the Kiwi. “We could not be more satisfied for the arrival of Cassidy, a really experienced driver who has already showed some outstanding driving skills throughout his career, especially behind the wheel of Formula 3 cars.

“When we had an open seat at the end of last season, I did not have a single doubt about having him in our team. He did a really good job straight away and showed he had the attitude needed to be a part of Prema. That is why we decided to add him to our 2016 line-up”.

Prema Powerteam enters the 2016 competition as favourites with a 4-car team where other seat’s are filled by 2015 New Zealand Toyota Racing Series Champion, Lance Stroll, Maximilian Günther and rookie Ralf Aron.

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!