Fast Facts heading to the Iowa 300

| Photographer Credit: Joe Skibinski

This weekend sees just the third of five oval races on the NTT IndyCar Series calendar. As Scott Dixon explains, the Iowa 300 will not be a walk-in-the-park.

“Iowa Speedway is such a tough track for racing Indy cars. You have very high G-force loading and there is always a lot of action on that little bullring-style track.

“You really have to be on your game with traffic and the quick lap times. It’s got a lot more character having weathered in over the years. I really love this event and especially the fans that attend – they really love Indy car racing and show their support. I’m glad we’re back to a Saturday night race. This track always presents a unique challenge.”

Here are the Fast Facts from

There have been six different winners in 11 NTT IndyCar Series races in 2019: Josef Newgarden (Streets of St. Petersburg, Raceway at Belle Isle Park-1 and Texas Motor Speedway), Colton Herta (Circuit of The Americas), Takuma Sato (Barber Motorsports Park), Alexander Rossi (Streets of Long Beach and Road America), Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Oval and Streets of Toronto) and Scott Dixon (Raceway at Belle Isle Park-2). The record for most different winners in a season is 11 in 2000, 2001 and 2014.

There have been seven different NTT P1 Award winners in 2019. Will Power (Streets of St. Petersburg and Circuit of The Americas), Takuma Sato (Barber Motorsports Park and Texas Motor Speedway), Alexander Rossi (Streets of Long Beach, Raceway at Belle Isle Park-1), Felix Rosenqvist (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course) Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Oval and Streets of Toronto), Josef Newgarden (Raceway at Belle Isle Park-2) and Colton Herta (Road America). The record for most pole winners in a season is 12 set in the 1999 CART season.

The Iowa 300 will be the 13th NTT IndyCar Series event at Iowa Speedway. Ryan Hunter-Reay and James Hinchcliffe are the only active drivers to win at Iowa Speedway more than once. Hunter-Reay has three wins (2012, 2014 and 2015), while Hinchcliffe (2013 and 2018) has two. Past winners Josef Newgarden (2016), Marco Andretti (2011) and Tony Kanaan (2010) are also entered in the event.

The Iowa 300 will be the third oval race on the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series schedule. The previous two races were won by Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis 500) and Josef Newgarden (Texas Motor Speedway). The remaining two oval races will take place at Pocono Raceway (Aug. 18) and World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway (Aug. 24).

Andretti Autosport has won seven of the 12 previous races at Iowa Speedway, including six of the last nine races (Dario Franchitti 2007, Tony Kanaan 2010, Marco Andretti 2011, Ryan Hunter-Reay 2012, 2014 and 2015 and James Hinchcliffe 2013). Chip Ganassi Racing has two wins (Dan Wheldon 2008 and Franchitti 2009). Ed Carpenter Racing, which won the event in 2016 with Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, which won in 2017 with Helio Castroneves, and Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, which won last year’s race with Hinchcliffe, have each won at Iowa once.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Dario Franchitti are the only drivers to win at Iowa Speedway and win the NTT IndyCar Series championship in the same season. Hunter-Reay accomplished the feat in 2012 and Franchitti in 2007 and 2009.

No driver has won the NTT IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway from the pole.

Three drivers have competed in every NTT IndyCar Series race at Iowa: Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan. All are entered this year. Thirteen drivers entered have led laps at the track (Josef Newgarden 623, Kanaan 523, James Hinchcliffe 290, Dixon 126, Andretti 94, Will Power 80, Ryan Hunter-Reay 54, Graham Rahal 19, Ed Carpenter 18, Simon Pagenaud 13, Takuma Sato 10, Sebastien Bourdais 6 and Alexander Rossi 4).

Ryan Hunter-Reay finished on the podium in five of the last seven Iowa Speedway races (2012-2015 and 2017) … Josef Newgarden has finished in the top four in four of the last five races at Iowa (2014-2016 and 2018) … Tony Kanaan has finished on the podium in five of his last nine races at Iowa … Marco Andretti has finished on the podium in four of his 12 starts at Iowa Speedway … Scott Dixon has started on pole three times (two earned) and has nine top-10 finishes at Iowa in 11 starts, but he has never finished better than third.

Rookies Marcus Ericsson, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta and Felix Rosenqvist will race an NTT IndyCar Series car at Iowa Speedway for the first time this weekend. Herta previously raced at Iowa Speedway in Indy Lights.

Tony Kanaan seeks to start his 312th consecutive race this weekend, which would extend his Indy car record streak that began in June 2001 at Portland. Kanaan is second all time in career starts after making his 370th start at Road America on June 23. Mario Andretti holds the record with 407.

Scott Dixon has made 252 consecutive starts heading into the weekend, which is the second-longest streak in Indy car racing. Marco Andretti has made 228 consecutive starts, which is the third-longest streak in Indy car racing.

Scott Dixon, the longest-tenured driver for Chip Ganassi Racing, is third on the all-time Indy car victory list with 45 wins. Sebastien Bourdais is sixth on the all-time list with 37 wins and Will Power is tied with Bobby Unser for seventh on the all-time list with 35 wins.

Sebastien Bourdais will attempt to make his 200th Indy car start at Iowa. The four-time Indy car champion will become the 25th driver to reach the milestone in his career.

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits both He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!