Four for Helio Castroneves

| Photographer Credit: Karl Zemlin

Helio Castroneves has won his fourth Indianapolis 500 after a close finish from rookie Alex Palou and 2019 winner Simon Pagenaud.

Starting from eighth on the grid (third-row), the Meyer Shank Racing driver was always in contention for the lead, battling for much of the second-half of the race with rookies Palou and Pato O’Ward, who finished fourth.

Pole-sitter Scott Dixon run into trouble early, losing a lap on the field, after fuel problems saw him spending too much time trying to get away from the pits. He finished in 17th while fellow Kiwi Scott McLaughlin finished in 20th after a late pit stop for fuel saw him drop out of the top ten.

It was 2001 that Castroneves first won the Indy 500, then backed it up in 2002 with his second victory at the Brickyard. His third victory, all with Team Penske came in 2009. The four-time winner has never actually won the Indycar Series, finishing runner up on four separate occasions (2002, 2008, 2013, 2014).

Fifth home was Ed Carpenter, followed by Santino Ferrucci, Sage Karam, Rinus Veekay, Pablo Montoya, with Tony Kanaan rounding out the top 10.

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply