More Formula Ford points on offer for national title contenders

| Photographer Credit: Terry Marshall/Euan Cameron Photography

This weekend sees the second round of the 2015/16 New Zealand Formula Ford Championship take place at the Mike Pero Motorsport Park in Christchurch. Whanganui’s Aaron Marr has a slim five point lead over Te Puke’s Michael Scott while Southland’s Ethan Anderson is a further 36 points behind.

Also doubling as the fourth round of the South Island Formula Ford Championship, the round has attracted drivers and teams from NZ, Australia and the UK with up to 20 cars expected to take to the grid.

Marr was satisfied with the opening encounter at Timaru in November but will come under pressure this weekend.

“We were very happy with the first round,” commented Marr. “A great weekend with a race win and two seconds, so not disappointed at all..”

Feilding’s James Webb was impressive at Timaru and will put the top three under pressure. The 2013 Speedsport Scholarship winner is driving Scott’s Mygale car from last season. The opening round was the first time the youngster had driven a Formula Ford and showed that he will get more competitive as the season continues.

With Three different classes vying for championship honours, Marr leads Class 1 while Gary Lovie leads fellow Cantabrian Anna Collins in Class 2. Australian Blair Brownlee has the lead in the historic Class three from Kaiapoi’s Roger McKenzie.

This season sees a major prize on the line for drivers. The national title winner will have the opportunity to attend an international ‘shoot-out’ in the USA, to determine who wins a $US200K fully supported drive in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2017.

Saturday sees qualifying and the first of three races. The round is part of the support categories to the opening round of the 2016 Toyota Racing Series. Current national Formula Ford champion Taylor Cockerton will feature as one of three Kiwi drivers up against 16 internationals in the five round series.

NZ Formula Ford Points Table after 1/6 rounds (Top 8)
1 Aaron Marr Wanganui 209
2 Michael Scott Te Puke 204
3 Ethan Anderson Riverton 168
4 Grant Campbell Auckland 147
5 Gary Lovie Christchurch 147
6 James Webb Feilding 127
7 Anna Collins Christchurch 126
8 Jordan Michels Invercargill 87

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!