Tom Blomqvist becomes the youngest BMW winner in DTM history

It took Tom Blomqvist (GB, BMW M4 DTM) just 14 races to join the list of DTM winners in his rookie season: the BMW Team RBM rider led from start to finish to win Sunday’s race in Oschersleben (DE) in emphatic style. Blomqvist got off to a flying start from second on the grid, passing his team-mate Augusto Farfus (BR, Shell BMW M4 DTM) by the first corner and then wasting no time in pulling clear of the rest of the field. At the end of the 60-minute race at the “Motorsport Arena”, one thing was clear: at just 21 years of age, Blomqvist is the youngest BMW winner in the DTM ever. Only Pascal Wehrlein (DE, Mercedes) has triumphed at a younger age. BMW claimed its 68th victory in the DTM.

“I am incredibly happy,” commented Blomqvist. “This is perhaps the biggest day of my career so far. To win a race in my rookie season is fantastic. I noticed at the start of the season just how difficult it is to be successful in the DTM. Now everything came together this weekend and I managed to take the opportunity. It has made me hungry for more success.”

Farfus crossed the finish line in second place behind Blomqvist to complete the first one-two for BMW Team RBM in the DTM. One day earlier, BMW Team MTEK had achieved the very same dream result. Reigning champion Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM) came home third to join them on the podium. António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) finished fourth to round off a second successive top-four lock-out in the DTM for BMW.

Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM), fresh from his victory in Saturday’s race, came home seventh this time. Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) and Bruno Spengler (CA, BMW Bank M4 DTM) were ninth and tenth. As such, seven BMW drivers finished in the points – just as they did on Saturday. Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM) had to settle for 20th place after receiving a drive-through penalty.

BMW Motorsport results:

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM – 1st
#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM – 2nd
#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM – 3rd
#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM – 4th
#16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM – 7th
#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM – 9th
#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM – 10th

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!