Dixon, Montoya Nominated for Autosport Awards

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon and 2015 Indianapolis 500 Mile Race winner Juan Pablo Montoya are among the nominees in the International Racing Driver of the Year category of the Autosport Awards.

The awards in 12 categories – eight voted on by Autosport subscribers online and four selected by magazine staff and competition judges – will be presented Dec. 6 during an international motorsports gala in London. The Autosport Awards have been presented since 1982.

Lewis Hamilton, who has wrapped up his third Formula One title, and Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg join F1 veteran Sebastian Vettel (a four-time winner in the category) and 2015 GP2 champion Stoffel Vandoorne as the other driver of the year nominees. Hamilton won the 2014 award in the category, when Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power was a nominee.

Dixon, who earned his fourth Verizon IndyCar Series title, also was nominated for International Racing Driver of the Year following his 2013 championship season.

“It’s obviously a prestigious award. You always want to win those, but there’s such great competition,” said Dixon, who is fifth on the all-time Indy car win list with 42. “To be recognized in any award format is nice, and maybe one day we can win it.”

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!