Sharp fourth quickest in GB3 testing at Silverstone

Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell ended official pre-season GB3 testing on top of the times for the second successive day at Silverstone.

The British driver, gearing up for his third season in the UK’s leading single-seater championship, recorded his best time of 1m52.732s in the third session of the day, and came close to beating it in the final test, missing out by 0.045s.

Cresswell ended the day almost two tenths of a second clear of Noah Ping, who had fellow VRD by Arden runner James Hedley behind him in third, courtesy of his session four time.

Rodin’s reigning British F4 champion Louis Sharp was fourth quickest thanks to his session four effort, having topped the times in the wet opening session of the day this morning.

Will Macintyre was the lead Hitech Pulse-Eight runner in fifth, 0.150s clear of the top JHR car of Patrick Heuzenroeder, with both also setting their best times at the end of the day.

The third of four VRD by Arden cars, that of Nikita Johnson, was seventh on the combined timesheets courtesy of his session three lap, 0.067s clear of JHR’s Josh Irfan in eighth, who had teammate John Bennett 0.023s further back in ninth, with both leaving their best until last.

Rodin’s Ugo Ugochukwu completed the top-10, which was covered by less than eight tenths of a second.

The top-12 cars were covered by less than a second, with the field now preparing for the Oulton Park season opener, with two days of pre-event running at the Cheshire venue to come on Thursday 28th and Friday 29th March, before the first races of the season.

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Silverstone test Wednesday combined result:
1/ McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, 1m52.732s (session three)
2/ Noah Ping, VRD Racing by Arden, +0.195s (session three)
3/ James Hedley, VRD Racing by Arden, +0.363s (session four)
4/ Louis Sharp, Rodin Motorsport, +0.381s (session four)
5/ Will Macintyre, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +0.500s (session four)
6/ Patrick Heuzenroeder, JHR Developments, +0.650s (session four)
7/ Nikita Johnson, VRD Racing by Arden, +0.690s (session three)
8/ Josh Irfan, JHR Developments, +0.757s (session four)
9/ John Bennett, JHR Developments, +0.780s (session four)
10/ Ugo Ugochukwu, Rodin Motorsport, +0.790s (session three)
11/ Jarrod Waberski, Elite Motorsport, +0.832s (session four)
12/ Tymek Kucharczyk, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +0.919s (session four)
13/ Arthur Rogeon, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.014s (session three)
14/ Gerrard Xie, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +1.206s (session three) (session four)
15/ Shawn Rashid, VRD Racing by Arden, +1.309s (session four)
16/ Hugo Schwarze, Elite Motorsport, +1.309s (session four)
17/ Colin Queen, Fortec Motorsport, +1.577s (session four)
18/ Edward Pearson, Fortec Motorsport, +1.624s (session four)
19/ Flynn Jackes, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.929s (session four)
20/ Seb Murray, Chris Dittmann Racing, +2.070s (session three)
21/ Rishab Jain, Chris Dittmann Racing, +2.867s (session three)

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply