Look back in history: Daniil Kvyat wins Dan Higgins Trophy (2011)

| Photographer Credit: Bruce Jenkins

Little was known about current Formula One driver Daniil Kvyat when he appeared on the grid for the 2011 Toyota Racing Series.  The Red Bull Junior driver raced in four rounds for the Victory Motor Racing team, finishing fifth in the championship with a win in the Dan Higgins Trophy at Manfeild and collecting another five podiums.  Just two years later Kvyat would be driving for Scuderia Toro Rosso F1 Team alongside Frenchman Jean-Éric Vergne, replacing Daniel Ricciardo, who had moved to parent team Red Bull Racing. 


The 2011 TRS title was won by Mitch Evans from Nick Cassidy.  The series also featured Scott Pye, Earl Bamber, Alex Lynn and Josh Hill.  Here’s the race report from Manfeild Park, Feilding NZ….


Russian racer takes Dan Higgins Trophy

Red Bull Junior team driver Daniil Kvyat has won the 2011 Dan Higgins Trophy at Manfeild near Palmerston North today, becoming the first Russian driver to have his name inscribed on the historic trophy.

Kvyat, 16, led from pole in a straightline sprint for the first corner with series leader Mitch Evans alongside and Australian Scott Pye close behind.

Pole at Manfield is off the racing line and is often referred to as the “dirty” side of the track because of the debris that collects there, but Kvyat perfectly judged the standing start to retain traction and stay a half-length in front of Evans going into the first corner.

“We’ve had a great car all weekend, it’s really had good balance and that showed from the start of the race,” a delighted Kvyat said afterward.

Fastest lap of the race went to Whenuapai driver Nick Cassidy, who had otherwise had a difficult drive that included a spin after contact between his car and that of another driver. Cassidy posted a 1:03.920, only fractions of a second outside the TRS race and circuit outright lap record of 1:03.820 set in 2008 by Earl Bamber.

Pit lane and start line dramas had delayed Bamber (electrical problems on the grid while waiting for the start) and Jamie McNee (stranded in pit lane with a car that would not start).

For the first two laps the leading four were Kvyat, Evans, Pye and UK driver Josh Hill. A brief safety car period then bunched the field up and allowed Mario Farnbacher (Germany) to close up on and overtake Hill for fourth place. Hill found himself under attack from both Farnbacher and Foster, and was unable to defend his position.

Russian driver Ivan Lukashevich also passed Hill and the top six began to consolidate their positions.

Evans put in a concerted effort as the race continued, closing up on the Red Bull car of Kvyat under bakes, but the young Russian driver was able to resist the pressure and stretch his lead each time the pair entered a straight. Both drivers ran up high on the raised kerbing at the start of the front straight during the closing laps, Kvyat’s car leaping high in the air but landing safely.

Australian Scott Pye fell back slightly from the duelling leaders, and by the finish was 2.1 seconds adrift of Kvyat but well clear of Farnbacher in fourth place.

The New Zealand Grand Prix weekend resumes today, with the Toyota Racing Series cars on track at 11.50am for a 12 lap race. The grid positions for this race are decided by finishing positions from race 1 today with the top six reversed, which puts Ivan Lukashevich on pole with Nick Foster beside him.

The 35 lap New Zealand Grand Prix gets underway at 3pm. Series leader Mitch Evans is on pole, with Nick Cassidy alongside him. Scott Pye and Nick Foster make up the second row of the grid, with Kvyat and Josh Hill in the next row.

The New Zealand Grand Prix has been contested by the Toyota Racing Series single-seaters since 2005. This year’s event is the 56th New Zealand Grand Prix.


Mark Baker

Mark Baker has been working in automotive PR and communications for more than two decades. For much longer than that he has been a motorsport journalist, photographer and competitor, witness to most of the most exciting and significant motorsport trends and events of the mid-late 20th Century. His earliest memories of motorsport were trips to races at Ohakea in the early 1960s, and later of annual summer pilgrimages to watch Shellsport racers and Mini 7s at Bay Park and winter sorties into forests around Kawerau and Rotorua to see the likes of Russell Brookes, Ari Vatanen and Mike Marshall ply their trade in group 4 Escorts. Together with Murray Taylor and TV producer/director Dave Hedge he has been responsible for helping to build New Zealand’s unique Toyota Racing Series into a globally recognized event brand under category managers Barrie and Louise Thomlinson. Now working for a variety of automotive and mainstream commercial clients, Mark has a unique perspective on recent motor racing history and the future career paths of our best and brightest young racers.

Related Stories