Evans still in contention for Porsche Supercup Championship

It was a weekend for the newcomers in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup with rookie Laurin Heinrich winning round six on the Circuit Zandvoort ahead of Leon Köhler. The two Germans compete for the Nebulus Racing by Huber, which celebrates its debut season in the international one-make cup with the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup.

Jaxon Evans (Martinet by Alméras), ten Voorde’s only remaining rival in the fight for the title, experienced a race to forget.

“I lacked the speed over the entire race weekend. Now I have to turn my full attention to the finale in Monza,” concluded the New Zealander, who finished in tenth place. As he heads to the doubleheader finale in Italy, his gap to ten Voorde is 25 points.

Heinrich and Köhler even took up the 16-lap race on the Dutch Formula 1 circuit from the front grid row. At the flag, the 19-year-old from Würzburg and the 22-year-old from Kleinwallstadt in Franconia were a full four seconds ahead of the pursuing pack.

Thanks to his maiden Supercup victory, Heinrich has moved up the leaderboard to rank third overall and has also extended his lead in the rookie standings. Nicolas Misslin (Pierre Martinet by Alméras) achieved a similar feat. The Monegasque won the ProAm category for the fourth time and has thus expanded his lead in this category.

Behind Heinrich and Köhler, the Dinamic Motorsport driver Simone Iaquinta celebrated his best Supercup result to date with third place.

Points’ leader Larry ten Voorde finished in fifth place. “I pulled off a super overtaking manoeuvre against Dylan Pereira – that was fantastic racing. Plus, I managed to extend my lead in the overall classification – what more could I want?” stated the reigning Supercup champion from the GP Elite squad.

Overall classification Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup after 6 of 8 races*
1/ Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team GP Elite), 113 points
2/ Jaxon Evans (NZ/Martinet by Alméras), 88 points
3/ Laurin Heinrich (D/Nebulus Racing by Huber), 78 points
4/ Leon Köhler (D/Nebulus Racing by Huber), 69 points
5/ Ayhancan Güven (TR/BWT Lechner Racing), 54 points
6/ Dylan Pereira (L/BWT Lechner Racing), 67 points

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply