Book released on 50 years of racing at Ruapuna

A book on 50 years of racing at the Ruapuna circuit (1963-2013) outside of Christchurch has been published and is now on sale through the Canterbury Car Club.

Writer Lindsay Kerr has put together the publication over a two year period. Rather than a blow by blow description of all meetings and statistics coming out your ears Kerr has chosen a scrapbook style for an easy read.

There are nine chapters which involve an overview of the history (this is the booklet that was produced at the time of actual 50th back in 2013) plus each of the five decades, classic meetings, thoughts of selected drivers (Trevor Crowe, Avon Hyde, Maurie Bone, John Osborne, John Crawford and Grant Milligan plus two delightful pieces on Royce Bayer and Gerald Hargreaves), thoughts from others viz Alan Coker, Colin Dangerfield and Rob Cope Williams plus a short memory on Dave Cook and John Hawkins.

Many of the stories are Kerr’s as published in the old Christchurch Star and Speedsport magazine. There is also programme covers, editorial from the car club monthly bulletin and 150 photos mainly from Terry Marshall and Euan Cameron, (from the 1990s onward).

The book is on sale for $50 through the Canterbury Car Club. contact the office during business hours through 03 349 6003.

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

GR86 Championship car revealed

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Join in the conversation!