Chapman/Doran/Waite Audi beats top field at Highlands in 3 Hour Enduro

| Photographer Credit: Euan Cameron Photography

Audi have again dominated the Carter’s Tyres South Island Endurance Series Three Hour race with the Dale Chapman/Marc Doran/Andrew Waite R8 LMS car claiming race victory at Highlands Motorsport Park on Saturday.  Spectators and fans were treated to three hours of close racing for the lead, a race that saw a number of safety car interventions and retirements.

Making a one-off appearance in the series and second home was the North Island Endurance Series title winning McLaren 650S GT3 of Glenn Smith and John DeVeth.  Third overall was the pole-sitter Audi R8 of Neil Foster and Jonny Reid.

“Finishing is the first key to winning this race,” commented Andrew Waite.  “It’s a long race, three hours, so it was important to stick to our own race.  I took on the third stint in the car and the plan was to be on the lead lap, so I could give it a crack, which I did. “

#90 Glenn Smith/John DeVeth McLaren 650S GT3

It was a race that saw numerous lead changes between the top contenders, with no one car able to settle in at the front.  First it was the Foster/Reid Audi that fought for the lead with the Tony Quinn/Damon Leitch Aston Martin GT3.  The Simon Gilbertson/John McIntyre Chev Camaro GT3 was right in contention until their final pitstop that saw the team giving the front suspension some attention. They also had to contend with gearbox issues, only having three gears left at the finish.

 But it was an 18-minute safety car period just before the one-hour mark that would turn the race in favour of the eventual winning Chapman/Doran/Waite Audi. 

#635 Glen Chappel/Mike Eady (BMW 150D) winner of Class C

At that stage their Audi was languishing in fourth place, but this safety car period allowed them to pit for fuel, change drivers and bunched the field close together for the restart.  Thereafter it saw them always in contention for the lead until the end of the race.  First with the Quinn’s Aston and then in the last 40 minutes with the Foster/Reid Audi. 

Unfortunately for the Aston, as in the first round at Teretonga, the car once again had to retire with less than 30 minutes to go.

With ex A1GP driver Jonny Reid back in the Audi, the last 40-minutes had the potential for a thrilling duel with Andrew Waite only for Reid to pull into the pits with a puncture.

“It was quite eventful race for us,” said Reid.  “I was chasing Andrew (Waite) and at the bridge there was a bit of carbon that may have come off his car which I ran over and punctured.  We were in the hunt for a race win, but it just wasn’t our day.”

With the lead changes happening up front, the Smith/DeVeth McLaren was quietly making head-way through the field, finding themselves in third spot with thirty-minutes remaining.

“Really what happened is we kept out of trouble while some of the others had some drama,” said Glenn Smith.  “We were able to stay on the lead lap and pit during two separate safety car periods.  We love this track and wanted to come down to Highlands.”

With Reid’s puncture they moved up to second with Waite taking the checkered flag.  Fourth home was the Porsche GT3R of George McFarlane/Jack Milligan with Gilbertson/McIntyre fifth.

#31 Paul Rickerby/Graeme Rhodes Ford SuperTourer winner of Class D

Five different classes were in contention as well as overall honours.  Arron Black/Stuart Black (BMW E46 WTC) were first home in Class A (0-2000cc) and 12th overall.  Rhys Gould and Gene Rollinson’s Hyundai i30N TCR won Class B (2001-3500cc) for the second consecutive time and placed a credible seventh overall.

Class C (3501cc+) was won by the diesel powered BMW150D of Glen Chappel/Mike Eady that came home in 10th.  Paul Rickerby/Graeme Rhodes (Ford V8 SuperTourer) placed eighth overall and won Class D (Purpose built including SuperTourers & GT4).  The Chapman/Doran/Waite Audi also won Class E (GT3 ‘Type’) and now take an overall lead in the series from Foster/Reid.

Drivers and teams now prepare for the penultimate round at Timaru International Raceway in Timaru on Saturday 19 October 2019.

#5 Rhys Gould/Gene Rollinson Hyundai i30N TCR Class B winner and 7th overall

Race results

Position, Drivers, Class, Car

1            Dale Chapman  Marc Doran       Andrew Waite   E            Audi      R8 LMS

2            Glenn Smith       John DeVeth                    E            McLaren             650S GT3

3            Neil Foster         Jonny Reid                        E            Audi      R8

4            George McFarlane          Jack Milligan                    E            Porsche GT3R

5            Simon Gilbertson            John McIntyre                 E            Chevrolet              Camaro GT3

6            Ben Byers           Christina Orr-West                        E            GT3 Audi R8              LMS Ultra

7            Rhys Gould        Gene Rollinson                B            Hyundai              i30N TCR

8            Paul Rickerby     Graeme Rhodes              D            Ford      V8 Supertourer

9            Dwayne Carter  Matt Carter                      D            Mercedes           SLS

10          Glen Chappel    Mike Eady                        C            Bmw     150D

11          Wayne Leach     Paul Burborough                           C            BMW    235 Cup Car

12          Arron Black        Stuart Black                      A            BMW    E46 WTC

13          Jarrod Parmenter            Andrew Brunton                            B              Mazda  Rx8

14          Ron Mackersy   Warren Good                   B            SEAT     CUPRA TCR

15          Jared Pyke          Ben Mcconochie                            B            Mazda  RX8

16          Todd Bawden    Rhys Bawden                   C            BMW    235 Cup Car

17          Connor Adams  Todd Foster                      A            Toyota  86

18          Terence Phillips Darryl Phillips                   A            Honda  Civic

19          Mark Taylor       Vaughan Moloney                         A            Honda              Integra DC2

20          Grant Moore     Matt Moore       Phil Schumacher             A              Toyota  Altezza

21          Barry Moore      Tim Mackersy                  B            Volkswagen       Golf GTi TCR

22          Victor Cattermole           Matthew Holland                          C              Mercedes           190e

23          Kevin Underwood           TBA                      C            Ford      Falcon

24          Perry Scarfe       Grant Silvester                 C            FORD    BA

DNF       Grant Askew      Cole Askew                       B            Seat       Supercopa Lean

DNF       Greg Brinck        Stephen Harrison                          D            Aston Martin              Vantage GT4

DNF       Michael Driver  Philip hood                       B            VW        GTI TCR

DNF       Paul Kelly            Craig Baird                        D            Porsche 997 Cup

DNF       Rodney Parkes  Michael Parkes                A            Honda  S2000

DNF       Sam Collins        Paul Radisich     Nick Ross            C            Ford              Mustang

DNF       Scott O’Donnell Allan Dippie                     D            Porsche 991 GT3 R

DNF       Shane Helms     Rob Bolland                     D            Ginetta G55 GT4

DNF       Tim Stanton       Leyton Tremain               A            Peugeot              106 Rallye

DNF       Tony Quinn        Damon Leitch                   E            Aston Martin     GT3

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!