Kiwi drivers finish outside the top ten in London E-Prix

BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Jake Dennis was the class of the field in the Heineken® London E-Prix Round 12, leading home Mercedes-EQ’s Nyck de Vries and Mahindra Racing’s Alex Lynn by more than a five-second margin for victory on home soil.

For Kiwi drivers Nick Cassidy and Mitch Evans it was an average round with Cassidy finishing in 11th and Evans 15th. Earlier both had qualified outside the top ten with Evans starting from 11th and Cassidy 20th.

In the opening laps of the race, Evans had to pit with a damaged front wing. His Jaguar Racing team mate and overall points leader, Sam Bird, fared no better pitting with damage to the rear of his car, retiring out of the race.

The Heineken® London E-Prix Round 13 follows tomorrow, with Free Practice 3 from 08:00 BST, followed by qualifying at 10:00 and the race itself at 14:00. (1am NZ time Sunday 25 July).

Results – Round 12

1Jake DennisBMW i Andretti Motorsport
2Nyck de VriesMercedes-EQ Formula E Team
3Alex LynnMahindra Racing
4André LottererTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team
5René RastAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler
6Lucas di GrassiAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler
7Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-EQ Formula E Team
8António Félix da CostaDS TECHEETAH
9Edoardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing
10Pascal WehrleinTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team
11Nick CassidyEnvision Virgin Racing
12Jean-Éric VergneDS TECHEETAH
13Robin FrijnsEnvision Virgin Racing
14Maximilian GüntherBMW i Andretti Motorsport
15Mitch EvansJaguar Racing
16Oliver TurveyNIO 333 FE Team
DSQSébastien BuemiNissan e.dams
DSQOliver RowlandNissan e.dams
DNFAlexander SimsMahindra Racing
DNFSam BirdJaguar Racing
DNFNorman NatoROKiT Venturi Racing
DNFTom BlomqvistNIO 333 FE Team

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply