Two ‘Super Rounds’ set to decide NZ Formula Ford title

| Photographer Credit: Terry Marshall/Euan Cameron Photography

This 2021/22 domestic motorsports season will see a major change in the format of the 2022 NZ Formula Ford Championship. Instead of a series of rounds, held at a number of different circuits throughout NZ, it will comprise of two ‘Super’ rounds, one in the North and one in the South Island, which will decide both overall and Class titles. 

The key to entering will be successfully competing in either the North Island Formula Ford Championship or the South Island Formula 1600 Championship.  These current six-round 18-race regional series in North and South, will also double up as qualifying rounds

Qualifying criteria for entry into the Super rounds will be tight and a competitor’s results throughout the regional rounds will secure an entry at the two Super Rounds.

These NZ Formula Ford Championship Super Rounds, which will be held at Speed Works events, will consist of four slightly longer races to test drivers and teams, at each round, adding another dimension to the 2022 season.

The South Island is likely to host their Super Round at Highlands in mid-January while the North round is looking likely for Taupo, in March, to decide the overall and Class titles.

James Penrose (Van Diemen Stealth) won the three-round 2021 NZ Formula Ford title

To add to the changes in the category, the regional groups have worked with MotorSport NZ to implement changes to the Schedule F Remit system.

The changes should ensure Schedule F and the Articles for the championships are published 1 July each year, with the exception this year being 1st August. This should assist competitors in planning for the upcoming season and will be a positive move for the category.

The South’s Schedule SIF will merge the National Schedule F, this will ensure the alignment of technical rules for all the Formula Ford/1600 groups in New Zealand that cover the championships.

Consequently, this will allow cars to move around the country freely competing in the various series. This means some changes for all in some areas and a couple of changes that will impact only some competitors.

With the tyre change , the Yokohama AO48 will replace the Avon ACB10 in all categories.  Class 3 retain the option of using the Avon ACB9 or Dunlop CR82. Yokohama tyres will be available at the end of July and competitors will be notified on how to purchase these in the near future with free freight to any commercial address in a main town.

Other changes of note, the car’s minimum weight will increase to 510kgs for all cars at national meetings.  At the regional level, Classes 1 and 2 will be 510kgs, Class 3 will be 500kgs, and at historic/ classic meetings Class 3 remain at 495kgs.

To align the damper rule 19.2.3 throughout the country, the current Schedule F rule will apply. It reads: “Class One and Class Two cars; damper units with a maximum of two (2) external adjusters are permitted, one compression adjuster and one rebound adjuster.  These adjusters are exclusive of the spring platforms and gas pressure”.  This means that any car with three-way adjusters will need to be brought into line with this rule.

Race radios will become mandatory for 2022 season.  These will be a driver receiver only in which Race Control can communicate before and during races to keep drivers up to speed on race start, track conditions, including flags out, oil on track etc.

This is a nation-wide roll out for the category.  The groups have negotiated a deal with the supplier for a bulk deal price that we can pass onto the competitors.

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply