Schelp controls Carter’s Tyres South Island Endurance One Hour race at Highlands

| Photographer Credit: Euan Cameron Photography

Christchurch’s Marco Schelp was a successful late entry into the Carter’s Tyres South Island Endurance Series One High race at Highlands Motorsport Park in Cromwell on Saturday.  Schelp (Porsche GT3 Cup S) not only qualified fastest for the 60 minute race but also led every lap to take the win.  The real race was behind him for the overall series lead with Jarrod Owens finishing second and brothers Johnny and Chris Small third.

“This time I am very happy, just enjoying racing again,” commented Schelp.  Competing in the Three-Hour race at the Teretonga opening round, Schelp and co-driver Matthew Hamilton retired with an engine fire in their BMW Z4 GT3. 

“The project I had with the (BMW) Z4 was too much, so it has been about relaxing and enjoying this beautiful track which is just awesome. I didn’t expect to win as Jarrod (Owens) and the Small brothers are very quick.  My endurance experience helped a lot, particularly with the heavy traffic.”

Second placed Owens agreed with Schelp. “It was pretty hairy through that traffic.  Marco was too fast, especially through the traffic he used his experience. I didn’t expect to beat him so pleased with second.”

Third for the Smalls’ sees them retain their lead in the four-round series, having won the opener at Teretonga a fortnight ago with Owens finishing fourth.

“We’re playing the safe game this weekend to be honest,” commented Chris Small.  “Neither of us have raced here so a new experience and have loved it.”

#17 Chris and Johnny Small (Porsche 997 GT3 Cup) ahead of Jarrod Owens (Porsche GT3 Cup S)

All cars must make a mandatory stop between the 10 and 50-minute marks.  For two driver teams, they must change driver while for others the driver is required to exit the vehicle, run around it and then can get going again.  The key is finding the ideal time for such a stop, with most teams opting to wait as long as possible, hoping for a safety car period.

This occurred with less than 20 minutes remaining when #148 Garry Derrick/ Ben Derrick (Porsche 996 GT3) spun coming out of the forest creating a safety car period with most teams taking their compulsory stop. 

With only six-minutes of racing left after the safety car period finished, it was the experienced Schelp who held his nerve and the lead until the checkered flag.  Johnny Small made a lunge for second place but backed off preferring to finish without risk, gathering important series points.

#35 Bruce Davidson (Chev Corvette C6R) was first home in Class C (3,501cc+)

Within the One Hour Race there are four class categories.  2KCup graduate and SsangYong driver Tim Dossett (Honda Civic) won Class A (0-2,000cc).  Jordan Michels repeated his Class B (2,001-3,500cc) win at Teretonga in his new Honda Civic Type R TCR. Local from Alexandra Bruce Davidson (Chev Corvette C6R) was first home in Class c (3,501cc+) with Schelp winning Class D (GT3).

Drivers and teams now prepare for the third and penultimate round at Timaru International Raceway 19 October 2019.

#119 Tim Dossett, (Honda Civic) Class A winner

One Hour Race Results

Position, Name, Class, Car

1            Marco Schelp    D            Porsche GT3 Cup S

2            Jarrod Owens    D            Porsche GT3 Cup S

3            Johnny Small/Chris Small             D            Porsche 997 GT3 Cup

4            Allan Dippie/Scott O’Donnell      D            Porsche GT3 Cup S

5            Danny Whiting  D            Porsche 991 Gen II GT3 Cup

6            Martin Dippie    D            Porsche  991 GT3 Cup

7            David McAlpine/Kynan Yu           D            McLaren GT4

8            Grant Aitken      D            Porsche Cayman GT4

9            Bruce Davidson C            Chev Corvette C6R

10          Jonas Paterson  D            Porsche 991 GT3 Cup

11          Chris Nicholas   D            Porsche 997

12          Rory Callaway   D            Porsche GT4 Clubsport

13          Jordan Michels  B            Honda Civic Type R TCR

14          Steve Scoles       D            Ginetta G55

15          John Buchanen D            Porsche GT4

16          Angus McFarlane/Michael Bushell           D            Porsche

17          Tim Dossett       A            Honda Civic

18          Murray Beeby/Karl Beeby           C            Nissan R32 GTR

19          Andrew Kitching              A            Honda Civic

20          Craig Elstob        B            VW Golf  Gti

21          Nick Archibald   B            Subaru WRX STI

22          John Wadsworth            D            Cheve Cruze

23          Dennis Chapman/Debbie Chapman         B            Audi TCR LMS RS3

24          Barry Kirk-Burnnand      C            Ford Mustang Boss 302S

25          Marcus Barnett/Brad Rule           A            Honda Type R

26          Mark Meadows A            Lotus Exige

27          Ben Silcock/Andre Simon             C            Toyota 86

28          Connor Sutherland/Peter Sutherland      A            Honda Civic

29          Andrew Wright A            Toyota 86

30          Mal Walters       B            Mazda RX7

31          Robert Gjaja      B            Lotus Exige

32          Scott Milne        B            BMW Mini Cooper S

33          Art Markus        A            Toyota Starlet KP60

DNF       Daniel Cropp     A            Honda Civic SIR

DNF       Braden Phillips  C            Ford Falcon TL

DNF       Geoff Clear/Max Clear   B            Honda Civic EP3

DNF       Clark Scott/Jim Boult      A            Honda Integra Type R

DNF       S Black/A Black  A            BMW E46

DNF       G Derrick/B Derrick        D            Porsche 996 GT3

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!