Entries open for Rally of the North

Organisers are pleased to announce that entries are now open for the 2015 edition of the Tanoa Paihia Hotel Rally of the North, which will run on September 12.

The Paihia-based event will take crews on a route effectively reversed from last year, heading north to Kaitaia in the morning before returning back to Paihia for the finish of the event at the end of the day. Competitors will take in close to 180km of special stages, making it one of the longest single day events in the country.

The rally will act as the final round of the Top Half Rally Series, while organisers are also delighted to announce that Rally of the North will be the season finale for the New Zealand Rally Championship in 2016, with top crews likely to enter the 2015 event to gain knowledge for the following year.

As usual, the event’s eight special stages have been named after past competitors and for 2015 the stages will be named after the eight previous winning co-drivers. This includes Rob Ryan, Gary Cowan, Dave Robb, Waverly Nation, Ben Hawkins, Malcolm Read, Tanya Gwynne and Warwick Searle.

“For 2015 we are back bigger and better and we are looking forward to running another good event on some of the best roads in the country,” says event organiser Anita Greenland. “It is great to have already confirmed our partnership with Tanoa Paihia Hotel for 2015 and we really appreciate their support.”

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply