Iconic Tasman Series to return via S5000 this summer

THE iconic Tasman Series will return in 2021 as a new seven-race series contested by S5000 this Summer. 

Commencing at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International at Mount Panorama on 26-28 November, the series will then shift to the streets of Surfers Paradise and the Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500 on 3-5 December. 

The winner will claim the Tasman Cup, a globally recognised prize first awarded in 1964 and one of the most iconic and renowned trophies in Australian and New Zealand Motorsport.  

The schedule will also include pre-season test days included prior to the back-to-back events.  

A pre-event test conducted by individual teams will be followed by an exclusive twilight test session at Sydney Motorsport Park, to be staged on the Wednesday evening prior to the Bathurst event.  

The return of the iconic Tasman Series and awarding of the Tasman Cup has the backing of both Motorsport Australia and Motorsport New Zealand.

The announcement of the Tasman Series replaces the previously announced Triple Crown, following the cancellation of the 2021 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix. 

While current conditions restrict the series to the two high profile Australian events this year, S5000 category managers Australian Racing Group plan to expand the series to include New Zealand circuits in the future.  

An expanded Tasman series will be the future of S5000 competition over summer, with the Australian Drivers’ Championship to remain a ‘regular season’ showpiece for the category moving forward. 

As such, the Bathurst International will be the next time S5000 cars hit the track to race this year.   

A substantial prize money fund, with full details to be announced, will be on offer to the series winner and key placegetters.  

Extremely competitive vehicle lease arrangements for the two tests and two race events have been put in place by S5000 vehicle constructor, Garry Rogers Motorsport.  

Both rounds will include live TV coverage, including free-to-air coverage of the Bathurst International event on Channel 7 in Australia.  

Sky Sport New Zealand will also broadcast both rounds while the Bathurst International will include live streaming around the world.  

Held between 1964 and 1975, the Tasman Series was an iconic part of the Australian and New Zealand racing landscape as a host of global motorsport heroes travelled down under to take on the best from the local scene.  

Winners included Formula 1 legends Jackie Stewart, Bruce McLaren, Chris Amon and Jim Clark and local Gold Star heroes like Graham McRae and Warwick Brown.  

The final Tasman Series round was held at Sandown Raceway in Melbourne on 23 February 1975 and was won by John Goss. 

The Tasman Cup trophy was returned briefly for a two-year period commencing in 1999, a pair of series held exclusively in New Zealand contested by Formula Holden competitors.  

Supercheap Auto Bathurst International, Mount Panorama, Bathurst (November 26-28)

Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500, Surfers Paradise (December 3-5) 

Working full time in the motorsport industry since 2004, Richard has established himself within the group of Australia’s core motorsport broadcasters, covering the support card at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix for Channel 10, the Bathurst 12 Hour for Channel 7 and RadioLeMans plus Porsche Carrera Cup & Touring Car Masters for FOX Sports’ Supercars coverage. Works a PR bloke for several teams and categories, is an amateur motorsport photographer and owns five cars, most of them Holdens, of varying vintage and state of disrepair.


Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply