Lawson 8th as Vesti wins shortened F3 race

Frederik Vesti is off the mark in Formula 3, taking his first victory in Race 1, but it’s not quite how the Dane would have envisaged it, with the race ending nine laps early due to a hazardous downpour of rain.

With more than 25% of the race left to run, only half points will be awarded to the grid, leaving Vesti with a sense of frustration on a weekend where he has shown real pace.

Trident enjoyed their most successful race in the Championship with their driver trio proving their abilities in the wet, as Lirim Zendeli and David Beckmann took second and third for their first F3 podiums, and a late lunge from Olli Caldwell saw him earn his best finish of fourth.

It wasn’t quite such a successful afternoon for the other two PREMAs, as Oscar Piastri fell from fourth to fifth, and Logan Sargeant dropped from third to seventh.

Kiwi Liam Lawson finished in eighth having qualified in tenth. “It was a messy qualifying for us,” Lawson said. “Two red flags disrupted our runs and we ended up in tenth. There is a bit of work to do but we have good race pace.”

Lawson ran as high as seventh, crossing the line in that position but the final classification was amended in line with the FIA sporting regulations which state that if a race cannot be resumed, then the results must be taken at the end of the penultimate lap before the race was suspended.

Race 2 gets underway tonight at 7:0pm NZ time.

FIA F3 Race 1 Results

Classification Driver Team
1 Frederik Vesti Prema Powerteam
2 Lirim Zendeli Trident
3 David Beckmann Trident
4 Oscar Piastri Prema Powerteam
5 Olli Caldwell Trident
6 Logan Sargeant Prema Powerteam
7 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport
8 Liam Lawson HitechGP
9 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix
10 Jake Hughes HWA AG
11 Alexander Peroni Campos Racing
12 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System
13 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix
14 Max Fewtrell HitechGP
15 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA AG
16 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport
17 Roman Staněk Charouz Racing System
18 Dennis Hauger HitechGP
19 Enaam Ahmed Carlin
20 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport
21 Sophia Flörsch Campos Racing
22 Jack Doohan HWA AG
23 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport
24 Cameron Das Carlin
25 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport
26 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System
27 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing
28 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport
29 Clement Novalak Carlin
Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix

Related Stories

FIA F3 heads to Barcelona

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Join in the conversation!