Feeney wins Race 5 as Payne and Waters clash

Broc Feeney benefited from an incident between Matthew Payne and Cam Waters to win Race 5 of the Repco Supercars Championship at the Australian F1 Grand Prix weekend in Melbourne. He finished ahead of Red Bull Ampol Racing teammate Will Brown, and Walkinshaw Andretti United Ford star Chaz Mostert.

Meanwhile, race stewards have explained why no further action was taken over the dramatic incident between Matt Payne and Cam Waters.

Payne and Waters collided while disputing the lead heading into the final corner on lap 2 of Race 5 at Albert Park.

Before the crash, the pole-sitting Payne overtook Waters at Turn 11, before Waters made nose-to-tail contact with the Penrite Ford at Turn 13.

Payne moved back to the racing line but made side-to-side contact with Waters. The #6 Monster Mustang was escorted into the wall, while the #19 Penrite Ford spun around and crashed rearwards. Both took no further part in the race.

“During the race, the DRD reviewed the available broadcast and in-car vision of an incident between Car 6 Cam Waters and Car 19 Matthew Payne in consultation with the DSA determined that Car 6 initially made contact to the rear of Car 19 causing Car 19 wide at the apex of Turn 13, with Car 6 gaining an advantage on Car 19 on the outside approaching Turn 14,” the report reads.

“Car 19 has moved back to the traditional racing line for Turn 14 causing contact to Car 6.

“The Stewards have deemed that each driver (Car 6 for Turn 13 and Car 19 for Turn 14) contributed to the incident where neither driver have been classified as a Finisher in the race classifications.

“The Stewards believe in this instance imposing any further Time Penalties on either driver is not warranted.”

The final race of the MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint weekend starts Sunday at 10:25am local time.

Repco Supercars Championship Race 5 Results

1stBroc Feeney
2ndWill Brown
3rdChaz Mostert
4thDavid Reynolds
5thJack Le Brocq
6thTodd Hazelwood
7thRichie Stanaway
8thTim Slade
9thNick Percat
10thRyan Wood
11thJames Courtney
12thJames Golding
13thMark Winterbottom
14thWill Davison
15thCameron Hill
16thAnton De Pasquale
17thAaron Love
18thJaxon Evans
19thMacauley Jones
20thAndre Heimgartner
21stBryce Fullwood
22ndThomas Randle
DNFMatt Payne
DNFCam Waters

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply