Van Gisbergen extends lead despite bungled pitstop

Chaz Mostert claimed his second win of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship in a chaotic Merlin Darwin Triple Crown opening race in Darwin. What should have been a victory for Shane van Gisbergen was stymied after a bungled pitstop at the Hidden Valley circuit.

“Firstly, the car was awesome today,” commented van Gisbergen who finished in 12th. “We had a lot of issues yesterday which I mentioned, but it was much better today.

“I had really good pace, and I knew that our race pace was great. Our start was awesome, and I managed to get out in front coming into turn one. The first stint was good, and the car was awesome, but then we had an unfortunate pit stop incident which costs us 30-seconds and ultimately cost us the win.

“It’s a real shame because we had the quickest car today, but we’ll work on all the positives and use them to our advantage tomorrow. I think we’ll be fine tomorrow. We just missed a really good opportunity today with all of the cars caught up at turn one, and I could have got a lot more points today.”

Van Gisbergen extended his series lead over Whincup, who finished one position behind his team mate in 13th, to 193 points courtesy of his fastest lap, with Mostert closing to 195 points of the championship leader.

Eighth-starting Mostert was one of the beneficiaries of the lap 1, Turn 1 chaos which wiped out pole-sitter Anton De Pasquale. It marked the second win in Walkinshaw Andretti United colours for Mostert following his Race 8 win in Tasmania. It was also Mostert’s first win in Darwin since 2015, the 15th of his career, and WAU’s first win in Darwin since 2008.

Second home was Cameron Waters followed by Nick Percat. The field will return for ARMOR ALL Qualifying for Race 13 at 9:45am on Sunday.

Race 12 Results

1Chaz Mostert 
2Cameron Waters12.390
3Nick Percat15.361
4James Courtney21.421
5Will Brown23.315
6Jake Kostecki24.763
7Kurt Kostecki25.244
8Tim Slade25.660
9Brodie Kostecki25.730
10Thomas Randle25.984
11Bryce Fullwood26.497
12Jamie Whincup26.704
13Shane van Gisbergen28.509
14Will Davison29.240
15Andre Heimgartner30.089
16Zane Goddard35.349
17Thomas Randle36.924
18Zane Goddard37.117
19Macauley Jones37.467
20David Reynolds39.622
21Jack Le Brocq 1:00.638
22Scott Pye2 laps
 23Mark Winterbottom9 laps
DNFAnton De Pasquale
DNFFabian Coulthard
DNF Todd Hazelwood

Related Stories

Yokohama steps up its support of the V8 Utes

TalkMotorsport Medium Read Length MEDIUM READ

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply