Van Gisbergen’s win a long-time coming

After fourteen starts in The Great Race, Shane van Gisbergen has at last won the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 race as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship. Having finished second in 2019 with co-driver Garth Tander, the pair teamed up again in the Red Bull Holden Commodore.

“How unreal is that,” commented van Gisbergen. “The last 60 laps were so intense, and all the safety cars made it really tough, but it was an awesome job all day by Garth and the whole team as well.

“The car just got better and better throughout the day and the last couple of stints were really cool to drive.

“I’ve had some bad runs at Bathurst in the past, and today was all about making no mistakes. I made sure I capitalised when it rained – I got to the front and never let go of it.

“We’ve been the factory team for the last couple of years, and to not have Holden support racing anymore is devastating, but to win the last Bathurst 1000 for them was something pretty special.”

Van Gisbergen made his first debut at Mount Panarama in 2007 with Team Kiwi Ford Falcon BF) with fellow Kiwi John McIntyre as co-driver. The pair retiring after 148 laps.

Shane van Gisbergen, 2011 V8Supercars Bathurst 1000

The next five Bathurst appearances were with Stone Brothers Racing, his best finish a sixth place in 2011, again with McIntyre.

A move to Tekno Autosports and the Holden brand for the next three appearances (2013-2015) co-driving with team owner Jonathon Webb and a best result of eighth overall in 2015 before van Gisbergen signed with his current team, Triple Eight Race Engineering.

2016, partnered with Alex Premat, resulted in second overall behind his former team Tekno Autosports with Will Davison and Jonathon Webb taking the win.

His 2020 victory will be well received by Supercars fans. At last the popular Kiwi driver has conquered the mountain.

The Shell V-Power Racing Team claimed the Teams’ Championship while Scott McLaughlin, who finished fifth overall, was officially crowned winner of the Driver’s Championship.

Race results

1 Shane van Gisbergen
 Garth Tander
2 Cameron Waters
 Will Davison
3 Chaz Mostert
 Warren Luff
4 Fabian Coulthard
 Tony D’Alberto
5 Scott McLaughlin
 Tim Slade
6 Scott Pye
 Dean Fiore
7 Lee Holdsworth
 Michael Caruso
8 Mark Winterbottom
 James Golding
9 Anton De Pasquale
Brodie Kostecki
10 James Courtney
Broc Feeney
11 Andre Heimgartner
Dylan O’Keeffe
12 Alex Davison
 Jonathon Webb
13 Macauley Jones
 Tim Blanchard
14 Jack Le Brocq
 James Moffat
15 David Reynolds
 Will Brown
1 Lap
16 Chris Pither
 Steven Owen
2 Laps
17 Rick Kelly
 Dale Wood
17 Laps
18 Nick Percat
 Thomas Randle
28 Laps
19Tyler Everingham
Jayden Ojeda
40 Laps
 Jake Kostecki
 Zane Goddard
 Jack Smith
Jack Perkins
 Bryce Fullwood
 Kurt Kostecki
 Garry Jacobson
 David Russell
 Todd Hazelwood
Jordan Boys
 Jamie Whincup
 Craig Lowndes

Benjamin Carrell

Benjamin Carrell is a freelance motorsport writer and currently edits He writes for a number of Kiwi drivers and motorsport clubs. That's when he's not working in his horticultural day-job or training for the next road or mtb cycle race!

Related Stories

Join in the conversation!


Leave a Reply